On the bright morning of December 12, 2023, Gimba Primary Grounds in Voi was abuzz with excitement as the Sagalla Hills Marathon 2023 unfolded under a clear cloudy sky. The Sagalla Hills Marathon song by T.A.T band welcomed the runners.

The local leaders, Member of County Assembly (MCA) Kaloleni Ward, Hon. Azhar Din, MCA Sagalla Ward Hon. Bryson Mwambi, CECM Sports Shedrack Mtungi, and others arrived to the jubilation of the community and runners.

Sponsors who included: Diaspora University Town, DUT Credit Ltd, Daktari Biotechnology, KMTC, Kenya Red Cross, Taita Taveta county Government, Ndara B Community, Equity Afia-voi branch, Kenya wildlife Service, Kenya Police, Ore Park, Muru IT Technology, Dibarts,Gracious Tents & Sounds, Arusha Sounds, Ruby Water, Mvoi Ventures ltd, Okest Life, New GG Timber & Hardware, Geoprobe Consultancy, Faoz Confectionary, Rosewood hotel & Grill, Kenya Forest Service, PCEA St Stephens Academy, Edmil Solutions, Voi Youth Forum, Glass World Engineering, St Peter & Paul Catholic Church-Gimba, Gimba Primary School and Tsavo Air.

The marathon  kicked off by a lively parade led by St. Stephen's Academy Scouts. Next was a Prayer for God’s blessing. The 5km and 42 km races were thereafter flagged off by local dignitaries. Jackson Keke the Master of Ceremony kept the crowd informed and engaged as the day unfolded.

St Stephens scout leading the parade

Barely 30 minutes after the runners had left, Boda Boda’s positioned themselves to go round the hills. Dan Kamau the DUT project director who was the organizer and one of those going round the hills said that the purpose of the Boda Boda’s was to create a tourism product for those unable to run and want to go round the hills. Asina Kidoki - Ndara B Vice Chair, Lucy Michael and others boarded the motor cycles and off the left.


The 5km marathon race was the first to be completed. There was jubilation as the runners completed.

Then John Kisiru, the male runner of the 42 km category, came escorted by the boda boda’s that were carrying those who went to tour. John is the first person to finish the 42 km marathon race. The time recorded for his finish was 2 hours, 59 minutes and 13 seconds.

John Kisiru - 42km Male Winner 

The first woman to finish the 42km Sagalla Hills marathon was Rozina Kiboina who finished at 3 hours, 1 minute and 22 seconds.

Rosina Kiboina - 42km Female Winner

The County Executive Committee Member for Sports Taita Taveta County Mr Shedrack Mtungi thanked the participants. He read the names of the winners in different categories and congratulated them.

The DUT Project Director Dan Kamau who had gone round the hills with a Boda Boda thanked the members of the organizing committee for making the event a success. He congratulated all winners as well as all those who turned out for this historic event. Dan who has attended the Boston City and New York City marathons said that with the commitment of the Ndara B Community and well wishers the  Sagalla Hills Marathon will grow to become a marathon that thousands from all over the world attend.

DUT Project Director, Dan Kamau, at the SHM 2023

The chairman of Ndara B community Mr Benjamin Mwandaa also gave a vote of thanks to everyone present and also congratulated the winners.

The Chairman of Ndara B Community at the SHM 2023

Sagalla Hills Marathon organizing Committee Chairman, Joshua Mwadeghu gave thanks and emphatically encouraged members of the Ndara B Community to register and prepare for next year's annual Sagalla Hills Marathon 2024 edition scheduled on 12 December 2024.He expressed optimism for the potential growth of Sagalla Hills Marathon that would in future see athletes accorded the opportunity to participate in the renowned Boston Marathon.

SHM Organizing Committee Chairman giving his speech

Ronald Mwangombe gave vote of thanks to all attending and to the sponsors.  


The winners of the male category were;

  1. John Kisiru -2hours :59min :13 sec
  2. Joseph Mtwanthei - 3hours:24min:13 sec
  3. Jacob Nalienya-3hours:24min:15sec

The winners of the Female category were;

  1. Rozina Kiboina -3hours:1min:22sec,
  2. Dorcas Nzenge-3hours:4min:22sec
  3. Jemimah Chibule-3hours:55min:23sec


The winners of the male category were;

  1. Peter Maundu-17min:19sec,
  2. Solomon Malalo-17min:39sec
  3. George Mwachai-18min:22sec.

The winners of the female category were;

  1. Fransisca Mwikali-22min:17sec
  2. Faith Kanini-23min:40sec and
  3. Beatrice Issa-25min:55sec


The winners of the male category were;

  1. Frank Mughendi-23min:56sec
  2. Edward Mngolia-24min:37sec
  3. Shaban Abdalla-25min:16sec

The winners of the female category were;

  1. Valentine Wakesho -31min:04sec
  2. Scholastica Samba-32min:04sec

Check out more stunning  photos from the Sagalla Hills Marathon Page on Facebook.